What is it?

What is intercultural twinning?

Intercultural Twinnings are exchange activities between students of diverse languages and cultures as part of their studies. They take place within adult-ed institutions, colleges, CEGEPs or universities. Supervised by teachers, twinnings are designed to allow participants to learn from each other, creating a win-win situation! The goal is for learners of French to practice and improve their language skills, but also to build bridges between students from different backgrounds.

History of the project

Cross-cultural twinnings have been enriching the learning of French language students since the early 2000s at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Nearly 12,000 twins have participated in this activity to date. Given this success, instructors from UQAM and other post-secondary institutions are eager to share their experiences through this site.

For many years, students studying French at UQAM’s School of Languages have been participating in intercultural twinnings as part of their coursework. As part of writing, grammar, reading or speaking courses, learners of French have been meeting francophones to experience learning activities together. But the goal is not just practicing the language. Equally important is learning more about the target culture and sharing together in a mutually beneficial atmosphere.

Testimonials

What do former exchange twins have to say?

"This activity is an excellent method for bringing students from different backgrounds together. Our conversations allowed us to discover our respective realities - and what we had in common. We had the opportunity to learn from each other – which can only make our society a better place to live."

Sergei

Student in French as a second language program

"I now have the confidence to speak with francophones. Even if I have an accent, they can understand me."

Julio

Student in French as a second language program

"I sensed that my twin was happy to meet a "pure wool" Quebecer because her contact had until then been limited to her family, co-workers and neighbors, who are also immigrants."

Julie

Francophone student in Education

"I really like this form of exchange, not only to meet new friends, but also to better understand Quebec's history and culture. I hope that you will continue to use this method of teaching."

Wang

Student in French as a second language program

"I found my twin (Gao) very courageous to have left her country to seek a better life for her family, when she spoke neither French nor English and knew she would lose some social standing. We often encounter immigrants in Montreal, but we rarely take the time to talk to them and learn about their history and culture. Immigrants have a lot to offer."

Kelly

French-speaking student in psychology

"Twinning has an important impact not only on learning the language and the culture, but also on professional development in a language class for those who wish to become teachers, as this activity allows teachers to think about how to bring culture into their language class."

Ève

Student in Second Language Education

Why?

What are the benefits of being twinned?

Exchange with francophones

For students learning French as a second language, the main benefit is to interact with francophones who come from Quebec or elsewhere. It’s also an opportunity to discover the richly diverse francophone culture and to learn more about Quebec or other francophone societies.

​Practice the French language

Twinning allows learners to practice their French, either orally or through writing, with a twinning partner. Orally, dialogue with francophones allows learners to practice listening, speaking and interacting in an authentic and productive environment. In the context of a written twinning (on Facebook for example), twinned partners read and write texts, or chat with their partners.

Interacting with francophones in a secure environment

Twinning encourages authentic interaction with speakers of French. Such interactions can be both fun and occasionally stressful for a second language learner. Fortunately, twinning takes place in a safe academic environment. Teachers, twins and even fellow classmates are there for support. Before, during or after an exchange, the language learner can ask any questions or voice any concerns to specialists (teachers) or to peers who are experiencing their own twinning exchange.

Guidelines

A pedagogical approach

Recognizing the specific nature of the twinning experience

Intercultural twinnings are exchange activities that provide a rich, complex experience - they are more than mere linguistic twinnings, they promote the coming together of people from diverse cultures. Discover the distinct character of intercultural twinnings.

Understanding the steps in the twinning process

Twinning activities cannot be improvised: they must be skillfully prepared and implemented to ensure that learning and intercultural exchange happens. Provided here is the list of steps recommended for successfully completing a twinning project.

Putting "winning" conditions into place

Intercultural exchanges don’t just happen by themselves. People from diverse cultures can meet without ever really communicating or understanding each other. To prevent, as much as possible, such unfulfilling experiences, put in place the following "winning" conditions.

News

Twinning news

Read about recent twinning news and events

Jumelage linguistique commerçants-étudiants

May 2, 2019: Intercultural twinnings at UQAM

A report on intercultural twinning on Radio-Canada

Are you organizing an intercultural twinning?

Our toolbox features videos and educational activities to use, as well as document resources that you can consult - material to help you better organize and guide your students’ twinnings.

Explore the toolbox

C'est quoi?

Le jumelage interculturel?

Le jumelage interculturel est une activité d’échange entre des étudiant.e.s de diverses langues et cultures dans le cadre de leurs études, que ce soit dans un établissement d’enseignement pour adultes, un collège, un cégep ou une université. Cette activité, encadrée par des enseignant.e.s, permet d’apprendre les uns des autres. Le but est de pratiquer et d’améliorer le français pour les non-francophones, mais aussi d’établir des ponts entre étudiant.e.s de différents horizons.

Histoire du projet

Des jumelages interculturels ont lieu depuis le début des années 2000 à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Près de 12 000 jumeaux/jumelles ont participé à cette activité. Les enseignant.e.s de l’UQAM et d’autres institutions d’enseignement postsecondaire souhaitent d’ailleurs partager leurs expériences par le biais de ce site.

Depuis de nombreuses années, des étudiant.e.s apprenant le français à l’École de langues de l’UQAM participent à des jumelages interculturels dans le cadre de leurs cours. Que ce soit dans un cours d’écriture, de grammaire, de lecture ou d’expression orale, les apprenant.e.s. de français rencontrent des francophones pour réaliser ensemble des activités d’apprentissage. L’objectif n’est pas seulement de pratiquer la langue, mais aussi d’en apprendre davantage sur la culture cible, d’échanger dans la réciprocité.

Témoignages

Des expériences d'anciens jumeaux et jumelles

« Cette activité est une excellente méthode pour intégrer les étudiants de différentes origines. À travers le dialogue, nous avons découvert nos réalités et nos similarités. Nous avons eu ainsi l’occasion d’apprendre les uns des autres pour mieux vivre en société.»

Sergei

Étudiant d’un programme de français langue seconde

« J’ai maintenant confiance pour parler avec des francophones. Même si j’ai un petit accent, ils sont capables de me comprendre.»

Julio

Étudiant d’un programme de français langue seconde

«J’ai senti que ma jumelle était contente de rencontrer une Québécoise "pure laine" parce que ses fréquentations se limitent à sa famille, à ses collègues de travail et à son voisinage, qui sont immigrants eux aussi.»

Julie

Étudiante francophone en éducation

«J’aime beaucoup cette forme de jumelage, non seulement pour rencontrer de nouveaux amis et aussi pour mieux comprendre l’histoire et la culture québécoise. J’espère que cette méthode d’enseignement va continuer.»

Wang

Étudiant d’un programme de français langue seconde

« J’ai trouvé ma jumelle Gao très courageuse d’avoir quitté son pays pour le bien de sa famille alors qu’elle ne parlait ni le français, ni l’anglais et qu’elle savait qu’elle baisserait de statut social. Nous croisons souvent des immigrants à Montréal, mais nous prenons rarement le temps de discuter avec eux et de connaître leur histoire et leur culture. Les immigrants ont beaucoup à nous apporter. »

Kelly

Étudiante francophone en psychologie

«Les jumelages ont un impact important non seulement sur l’apprentissage de la langue et de la culture de cette langue, mais aussi sur son enseignement et sur son développement dans une classe de langue pour ceux qui désirent devenir enseignants, car cette activité permet aux enseignants de réfléchir à la façon d’amener la culture dans leur classe de langue.»

Ève

Étudiante en didactique des langues

Pourquoi?

Les bénéfices d'être jumelé.e?

Échanger avec des personnes francophones

Pour les étudiant.e.s en français langue seconde, le principal bénéfice s’avère d’échanger avec des personnes francophones qui viennent du Québec ou d’ailleurs. C’est l’occasion de découvrir la culture francophone dans toute sa diversité, d’en apprendre davantage sur le Québec ou sur les autres sociétés francophones.

Pratiquer la langue française

Le jumelage permet de pratiquer la langue française, que ce soit à l’oral ou à l’écrit, selon la formule de jumelage. À l’oral, le dialogue authentique avec des francophones permet de s’exercer à écouter, à parler, à interagir convenablement. Dans le contexte d’un jumelage par écrit (sur Facebook par exemple), les personnes jumelées peuvent saisir l’occasion de lire, d’écrire des textes ou de clavarder avec les partenaires.

Interagir avec des francophones dans un cadre sécurisant

Le jumelage met de l’avant des interactions authentiques avec des locuteurs et locutrices du français. Ces interactions peuvent être à la fois amusantes et inquiétantes pour un.e apprenant.e. de langue seconde. Heureusement, le jumelage se déroule dans un environnement scolaire sécurisant. Les enseignant.e.s, les jumeaux/jumelles et même les camarades de classe peuvent être là comme soutien.

Les lignes directrices

Une approche pédagogique

Tenir compte des spécificités des jumelages

Les jumelages interculturels sont des activités d’échange qui ont une large portée : ce sont plus que des jumelages linguistiques, ce sont des jumelages pour favoriser la rencontre des personnes de diverses cultures. Découvrez ici le caractère distinct des jumelages interculturels.

Prendre en compte les étapes du jumelage

Les activités de jumelage ne s’improvisent pas : elles doivent être savamment préparées et réalisées pour favoriser l’apprentissage des étudiant.e.s et l’échange interculturel. Consultez la liste des étapes qui sont conseillées pour mener à bien un projet de jumelage.

Suivre les conditions “gagnantes”

La rencontre interculturelle ne va pas nécessairement de soi. Des individus de diverses cultures peuvent se rencontrer sans véritablement communiquer ou sans se comprendre. Pour éviter le plus possible cet écueil, considérez les conditions “gagnantes” suivantes.

Actualités

Les dernières nouvelles

Découvrez des activités récentes concernant le jumelage.

Fiche du CAPRES sur les jumelages interculturels

Le 2 mai 2019 : Les jumelages interculturels à l’UQAM

Un reportage sur les jumelages interculturels au Téléjournal de Radio-Canada

Vous organisez des jumelages?

Notre boîte à outils offre autant des vidéos, des activités pédagogiques à exploiter que des ressources documentaires que vous pouvez consulter. Du matériel pour mieux organiser et mener vos jumelages.

Explorer la boîte à outils